Marketing Inside Your Book Flap

Just read the FastCompany blog about Seth Godin going all digital with his publishing.  I think it’s a great move for Seth.  It’s a great marketing ploy, a great statement that traditional publishers need to pay attention to and it could actually mark the first time I’ve been wrong about something.

I was not a big believer that people would turn to the Kindle and the iPad for reading books.  I love the feel of a good, heavy book in my hand and most books aren’t that much bigger than the iPad or Kindle

However, it seems everyone I know is actually reading books on a digital device.  After realizing that I was wrong, for the first time ever, I now see other possibilities with this.  I’d enjoy a look up of author’s notes while reading OR perhaps I could what city he lived in or wrote about.  Maybe it’s a restaurant mentioned in the book, that I could then jump over to Google Maps to discover it’s whereabouts.

Perhaps there’s a twitter feed of loyal followers supplying interesting tidbits of info about the storyline as I go.  Maybe I can link to the author’s website or Amazon’s “if you liked this” list, etc…

Bring on the marketing ideas for digital book delivery.  I think a whole new marketing frontier is ready to be pioneered.

About Tom Brauch

Love your family. Serve others. Try your best. Make friendship a fine art. Drink deeply from good books. Make each day your masterpiece. Give thanks for your blessings. Master your emotions. Accept responsibility. Reject passivity. Lead courageously. Don't hold onto things. Play hard. Work with passion. Put integrity first. Laugh at the world. Persist until you succeed. Act now. Refine.
This entry was posted in Marketing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Marketing Inside Your Book Flap

  1. Pingback: Marketing and the Curious Future of Books | Marketing T-Shirt

Leave a Reply

